The Florida Senate is one of two groups that make up the Florida Legislature. Together, with the House of Representatives, laws that govern the state of Florida are made.
Senators are elected by the people in the district where they live to serve four year terms.
There are currently 40 senators in Florida. Each year the legislature gets together to debate, make policy and pass laws. A bill must be passed by both the Senate and the House before it can become law.
The Senate is presided over by the Senate president who is chosen by his or her peers in the senate. Currently, the President is Don Gaetz. Before arriving in Tallahassee try contacting with your senator. You, your kids and the community you come from are of utmost importance to your senator and he or she will do what they can to make your trip to Tallahassee memorable.
Try to sit in on a Senate meeting. Calenders for meetings do not come out far in advance, usually only a few hours, but once at the capitol find a meeting that might be discussing something your kids will find interesting.
To enter the Capitol building you must pass through a metal detector and like all of the buildings featured here, the Capitol is ADA accessible from the Capitol Plaza side entrance.

Typically, the capitol is open Monday - Friday: 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. excluding State Holidays.

300 S. Monroe Street Tallahassee, FL

Florida Senate