Girl's Guide to College Football


In the Division 1-A Football Bowl Subdivsion of the NCAA, there are 11 conferences, of which have between 9 to 16 member schools. There are 3 independent schools in Division 1-A. The conferences are:

The Swamp.

Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC): Containing schools located along the Atlantic Coast region. Member schools include Boston College, Clemson, Duke, Florida State, Georgia State, Maryland, North Carolina, North Carolina State, Virginia, Virginia Tech and Wake Forest.

Big 12: Located in the Central US. Member schools include Baylor, Colorado, Iowa State, Kansas, Kansas State, Missouri, Nebraska, Oklahoma, Oklahoma State, Texas, Texas A&M and Texas Tech.

Big East: Located in the Eastern US, its member schools include Cincinnati, Connecticut, Louisville, Pittsburgh, Rutgers, South Florida, Syracuse and West Virginia.

Big Ten: Located in the Midwestern and Mid-Atlantic US, its member schools include Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Michigan State, Minnesota, Northwestern, Ohio State, Penn State, Purdue and Wisconsin.

Conference USA: Located in the Southern US, its members include East Carolina, Houston, Marshall, Memphis, Rice, Southern Methodist, Southern Miss, Tulane, Tulsa, UAB, UCF and UTEP.

Mid-American: Located in the Great Lakes region, its members include Akron, Ball State, Bowling Green, Buffalo, Central Michigan, Eastern Michigan, Kent State, Miami (OH), Northern Illinois, Ohio, Temple, Toledo and Western Michigan.

Mountain West: Located in the Western US, with member schools Air Force, Brigham Young, Colorado State, New Mexico, San Diego State, TCU, UNLV, Utah and Wyoming.

Pacific-10 (Pac-10): Located on the Pacific Coast, with member schools Arizona, Arizona State, California, Oregon, Oregon State, Stanford, UCLA, USC, Washington and Washington State.

Southeastern (SEC): Located in the Southern US, its members are Alabama, Arkansas, Auburn, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, LSU, Mississippi, Mississippi State, South Carolina, Tennessee and Vanderbilt.

Sun Belt: Also located in the Southern US, this conference contains Arkansas State, Florida Atlantic, Florida International, Louisiana-Lafayette, Middle Tennessee State, North Texas, Troy and Western Kentucky.

Western Athletic (WAC): Featuring schools across the Western and Central US, its members are Boise State, Fresno State, Hawaii, Idaho, Louisiana Tech, Nevada, New Mexico State, San Jose State and Utah State.

Independents: Army, Navy and Notre Dame.


Teams are required to play a certain number of games against conference opponents. Some conferences have two divisions, like the ACC (Atlantic and Coastal divisions), Big 12 (North and South), Conference USA (East and West), Mid-American (East and West) and the SEC (East and West). Some of these conferences have championship games between the two teams at the top of their division, like the SEC and the ACC. Standings concern a teams Win-Loss record, both within their conference and overall. Standings should not be confused with rankings, which are determined by computer and human polls.