What is the zodiac?

The zodiac is a yearly cycle of 12 different constellations that are equally divided into 12 zones of the sun's apparent path across the heavens. Each different sign of the zodiac has corresponding personality traits, denoted through signs. The signs are: Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius and Pisces.

Astrologers typically use the movements of the constellations in the sky to generate horoscopes. A person's horoscope can give them outlook on their life for that particular day, week or even year. There are many types of zodiacs such as Indian and Chinese. However, the focus of this site is the Western zodiac.

History of the zodiac

The word "zodiac" comes from Greek terminology, and it literally means "circle of animals." The Egyptians are generally credited with the start of astrology and later introducing the science to Babylonians. The origins of the zodiac dates back to 2,000 B.C.

More about the zodiac

The signs of the zodiac are separated by their own characteristics:

Fire signs: Aries, Sagittarius and Leo
Water signs: Cancer, Scorpio and Pisces
Air signs: Libra, Aquarius and Gemini
Earth signs: Capricorn, Taurus and Virgo

The characteristics of these four quadrants depict different traits for a person of each sign. These traits include personality, relationships and friendships. Click on your quadrant to find out more about these traits.