Minnesota Vikings

The Minnesota Vikings franchise was established in 1961. In their first game, the Vikings made a wild debut their rookie, soon to be franchise quarterback, came off the bench and threw for four touchdown passes and ran for one.


1960's Uniform

The Vikings have worn the same jerseys for as long as they have been in the league. The Vikings became famous for their purple jerseys, and in the 1970's their dominating defense was nicknamed the Purple People Eaters. The jersey is all purple with white numbers and yellow trim.


Current Uniform

The helmet is purple with Viking horn logos on the sides. The Vikings have made no significant uniform changes.

The Minnesota Vikings have retired the following jerseys: #10 Fran Tarkenton, #53 Mick Tingelhoff, #70 Jim Marshall, #77 Korey Stringer, #80 Cris Carter, and #88 Alan Page.