A Brief History of Boxing

The modern version of the art of pugilism is said to have been founded by John Chambers, an English sportsman who drafted the "Marquess of Queensberry" rules in 1867.

The sport has undoubtably evolved throughout the nearly 150 years in existence underneath these said rules.

Since this site is devoted to promoting the education of the professional fight game, which differs greatly from the amateur version, most of the rules are derivative of Chambers' draft.

The Ring Magazine, known as "The Bible of Boxing," was first published in 1922. It is now owned by the recently retired boxer Oscar De La Hoya and is in association with Yahoo! Sports.

The magazine has always promoted lineal championship status. Ring magazine champions are recognized by fans as the "true" champions as opposed to sanctioning bodies (WBC, WBA, IBF, WBO, etc.) that are based on fees and faulty rankings.

There were originally eight divisions in boxing: heavyweight, light heavyweight, middleweight, welterweight, lightweight, featherweight, bantamweight and flyweight. This format has more than doubled to the current 17 weight classes: