To Filter or Not to Filter:
The Role of Public Librarians in Determining Internet Access
Introduction
Librarian's Role
Filters
Children and Harm
Legal Issues
Library Solutions
Links to free speech, filter and porn sites
References

LINKS TO RELATED SOURCES

This page contains links to the American Library Association, filtering software companies, freedom of speech organizations, legal data bases and pornographic sites.

WARNING: At the bottom of the page are two examples of sexually explicit "teaser ads." If you are offended by nudity and sexual activity, you may want to stop scrolling once you reach the beginning of the list of gay male pornographic sites.

AMERICAN LIBRARY ASSOCIATION: http://www.ala.org

FILTERING SOFTWARE COMPANIES:

Cyber Patrol: http://www.cyberpatrol.com

Net Nanny: http://www.netnanny.com

SurfWatch: http://www1.surfwatch.com

NOTE: Cyber Patrol and SurfWatch both offer free trials.

FREEDOM OF SPEECH SITES:

American Civil Liberties Union: http://www.aclu.org

Freedom Forum: http://www.freedomforum.org

LEGAL RESOURCES:

Library of Congress: http://www.loc.gov

Government database legislative searches: http://thomas.loc.gov

Supreme Court decisions: http://www.findlaw.com/casecode/supreme.html

Index to primary legal materials: http://lawcrawler.findlaw.com

CAUTION! ....... CAUTION! ....... CAUTION! ....... CAUTION! ....... CAUTION! .......


PORNOGRAPHY SITES

WARNING--These sites may be offensive to some viewers as they contain sexually explicit materials. In addition, two examples of sexually explicit "teaser ads" appear at the end of the list of pornography sites. If you are offended by nudity and sexual activity, you may want to stop scrolling when you reach the links to gay male sites.

The pornography site http://www.whitehouse.com has caused considerable controversy because of its similarity to the official site of the United States White House.

Other Pornography Sites

Center Fold: http://www.centerfoldgold.com

Deanna's: http://www.deanna.com

Interotique: http://www.interotique.com

Isabella's: http://www.isabellacam.com

Private Gold: http://www.privategold.com

Real Time Videos: http://www.realtimevideos.com

School Girls: http://www.schoolgirls.com

Special Interest Porn Sites:

Black models-- Ebony Fantasy: http://www.ebonyfantasy.com

Gay Male Sites--

Boys Only: http://www.boysonly.com

Absolutely Male: http://www.absolutelymale.com

NOTE: Congress is equally concerned about minors accessing the pornographic sites themselves and sexually explicit "teaser ads," such as the following:


As advertised on http://www.absolutelymale.com
As advertised on http://www.privategold.com

RETURN TO THE TOP


To Filter or Not to Filter: The Role of Public Librarians in Determining Internet Access
Copyright (C) 1999 by Barbara H. Smith, University of Florida

All rights reserved. No portion of this document may be reproduced without the written consent of the author.

Please e-mail questions or comments to: bhsmith@ufl.edu