The Pulitzer Prize

Joseph Pulitzer

The Pulitzer Prize was endowed by Joseph Pulitzer in 1917. It is a high honor award for the achievements and excellence in American journalism, letters, drama and music. The awards are given every year. Since 1917, Columbia University has awarded these prizes on the recommendation of a Pulitzer Prize Board.

Fourteen prizes are given every year in journalism. There are prizes in letters that are for fiction, history, biography or autobiography, poetry and general nonfiction. The other prizes are for music and drama. Paid from Pulitzer endowments, a gold medal is one of the special awards for public service in journalism. The other selective categories receive a $5,000 award.

Click on 1998 Pulitzer Prize Winners to see who won this year.

Home/Pulitzer and Journalism/1998 Pulitzer Prize Winners/Resources