- CPM - Cost Per Impressions (The "M" comes from the Roman numeral 1,000).
So, $20 CPM represents $20 per 1,000 displays of a banner.
- CPC - Cost Per Click. Firm pays an agreed amount for each click-through to its site.
- Click-Through (CT) - A click on an ad that takes the viewer to another site.
- Click-Through Rate (CTR) - The number of clicks on an ad divided by the
number of displays of the ad, represented in percentages. Example: 50 people
click on an ad that has been displayed 1,000 times. (50/1,000) X 100% = 5%.
- Run of Site (ROS) - Means an ad will be displayed on most or all pages of a site.
- Insertion Order (IO) or Purchase Order - Order form signed by advertiser confirming
the details of the advertising campaign.
- Cancelable with no short rate - The advertiser may cancel their campaign at any time
and be refunded for the unused portion without penalty. Short rate refers to the penalty.
Banner Design Tips
- Keep message short and simple.
- Avoid Java or Flash banners as many people do not have these plug-ins.
- Choose GIF format over JPEG.
- Use large font for message text.
- Use attractive images that will grab the viewer's attention.
- Use attention words like "free" and "now".
- Convey the unique selling point of the website.
- Do NOT use bright colors.
- Create diferent versions of the banner and test them to improve the click-through rate.
- Animate banner with minimal frames.
- Add a border to make it stand out on the page.
- Keep the file size small to minimize download time.
- Adobe Illustrator 8.0
- Adobe Photoshop 5.5
- CorelDRAW 9
- Corel PHOTO-PAINT 7
- Fireworks 2
- Paint Shop Pro 5.03
- Ulead GIF Animator 3
- Ulead GIF Animator Lite
- Xara3D 3
Free Online Tools
- AdDesigner (Ad at top of page made with this tool)
- Animated Banner Maker
Banner Exchange Services
These services are a great source of free advertising. A firm agrees to display banners
on its site, and in exchange, the banner service will display that firm's
banner on other sites. How often a firm's banner is displayed depends on how
many times that firm's site displays other banners.
Many banner services also include other free services such as statistics
tracking, which is the best way to keep track of how much traffic a website is getting.
Many banner services target special interest groups allowing for the highest possiblity of reaching
a target audience.
Some banner services include:
- Link Exchange
Yahoo! has a detailed listing of banner exchange programs.
(Source of information on this page: iBoost.com)
This site created by Laura Biller