March 25, 1957- Belguim, France, West Germany, Italy, Luxembourg, and Netherland form the EEC.

**Below is the six representatives of the ECSC nations signing a new treaty on Dec. 9, 1957. Taken from AP Photo.**

ECSC Signing

Jan. 1, 1973- Denmark, Ireland and the UK join

Jan. 1, 1981- Greece joins.

Jan. 1, 1985- Greenland withdraws by referendum after gaining home rule from Denmark

Jan. 1, 1986- Portugal and Spain join.

Oct. 3, 1990- The territor of the former German Democratic Republic( unified Germany) joins the community.

Jan. 1, 1995- Austria, Finland, Sweden join.

May 1, 2004- Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia all join.

Jan 1, 2007- Bulkgaria and Romania join.

:: back home ::

Copyright 2006 Carmen Osorio-Rodrigues