The Balfour Declaration

1917 Map

The Balfour Declaration was issued by Britain in 1917. It declared that "His Majesty's Government views with favor the establishment in Palestine of a national home for the Jewish people, and will use their best endeavors to facilitate the achievement of this object, it being clearly understood that nothing shall be done which may prejudice the civil and religious rights of existing non-Jewish communities in Palestine or the rights and political status enjoyed by Jews in any other country."

The Balfour Declaration explicitly referred to "'the historical connections of the Jewish people with Palestine' and to the moral validity of 'reconstituting their National Home in that country'" The British Mandate for Palestine, which included the Balfour Declaration, was sanctioned by the 52 governments of the League of Nations on July 24, 1922.

Click on the links to the left to learn more about past struggles that Israel has faced. Click on the map above to enlarge it.