Ben Paikowsky

About me

Ben and his brothers.
Me (right) and my two brothers at Millenium Park in Chicago.

I have lived in Florida my whole life. I am the oldest of three boys, and my two brothers Josh and Ethan are pictured here. We also have two golden retrievers named Cal and Linc.

I'm involved in many things around campus. One thing that I devote a lot of my time to is Dance Marathon at UF. Dance Marathon is a 26.2 hour event where 800 dancers stand to raise money and awareness for Children's Miracle Network and more specifically, Shands Hospital for Children. I'm a hospitality captain, which means that I am one of the people responsible for feeding 800 dancers for six meals and six snacks! It has been without a doubt the most rewarding part of my experience at UF.

I'm also an ambassador to the College of Journalism and Communications and I volunteer at the Shands, where I often play with sick children to distract them for a couple of hours.

The two things I love the most are probably Diet Coke and good television. I don't get to watch as much TV as I used to, but I am still having my share fair of Diet Coke.

After college, I'm still not too sure about what I want to do. I've enjoyed a lot of my journalism classes and I know that I am learning a lot of useful things, but I don't think that I still want to be a journalist. I know that I want to move to a big city that's a little more metropolitan than Miami. I love New York City and Chicago, but I'm open to anything that will be a different experience.

I also like to travel and to read as much as my schedule allows. Check out my other pages for more about those things.