me

My name is Christina McGinley, and I am a Florida girl born and raised in Orlando. I am the youngesst of three children. My mom works in the office of the same elemtary school I attended, and my dad works with computer software for banks. My second oldest brother Jonathan graduated from Depaul University in Chicago and is currently working toward an acting career. My oldest brother Vincent is an illustrator, and he works for a company that designs baby toys. He has wonderful wife Crista and they have an adorable daughter named Ella. They are expecting a son soon, and I cannot wait to play with my new nephew.

I grew up in a small neighborhood and have longed to leave the Sunshine State to experience the city life. I someday hope to move to a big city like Chicago, New York City or even Washington, D.C., but for now, I attend the University of Florida in Gainesville. I am a junior majoring in journalism with a concentration in editing and a minor in theater. I originally thought I would work in newspapers after I graduate, but considering their current condition, I'm open to whatever possibilities present themselves. I just hope to do something that I'm passionate about it.

I am a co-freelance editor at the Independent Florida Alligator, the largest student-run newspaper in the country, and I have been there since May of 2008. To pay the bills, I've held a couple of jobs such as a nanny, sales associate and server. Currently, I work as a personal assistant for a doctor, running his errands, taking care of his car, watering his plants, etc. Between school and my two jobs, I keep myself pretty busy.

On my down time, one of my favorite things to do is read the entire New York Times newspaper, but, sadly, that does not happen enough. I mostly read books that are assigned to me in class, but I do my best to read for fun as much as I can. My favorite author at the moment is Christopher Moore.

I also love being outdoors. There's nothing like having a picnic with friends on cool, sunny day, or enjoying a lazy day by the beach reading a book. On rainy days I love curling up on the couch and watching a good movie. I am a huge movie buff, but because of the college budget I haven't been able to go to the movies as often as I like.