On the Eiffel TowerS

About Me

My name is Valerie Fritts and I am a senior journalism major and Spanish minor at the University of Florida in Gainesville. I plan to go to law school after I graduate.

I was born and raised in Lantana, Florida, but I have been a Gator all of my life. For as long as I can remember, my family and I have travelled to the Swamp at least a couple of times every fall to enjoy Gator football games. I really love spending time outside. Even walking around campus relaxes me. I also really enjoy cooking and trying new recipes. I cook for myself almost every night. I cook with my roommates or friends at least one night every week. My specialties include salmon, chicken wings and baked macaroni and cheese.

Family and Friends

My life would be incomplete without my family and friends. My mom, dad and brother visit Gainesville for a few home football games every year. I do not have loads and loads of friends, but the ones I do have mean a lot to me. I know my family and friends would be there for me, if I needed them.


I have the travel bug. Stepping off an airplane and being in a place I have never seen before is a thrill. I have been fortunate enough to have traveled the world. The only continents I have not visited are South America and Antarctica. Two of my favorite vacations were when my family and I went to Tanzania and to India. We saw lions, cheetahs, leopards and the Taj Majal, but it was the people dressed in dirty clothes with smiles on their faces who really touched me. We visited India and Tanzanian villages and saw what life was like for families who lived there. Seeing such poverty made me realize how privileged I am. This summer I hope to backpack around Europe with my brother after he graduates from high school.

During the 2010 spring semester, I lived in Sevilla, Spain with a host mother who did not speak a word of English. I attended classes taught in Spanish at the Universidad de Sevilla. While abroad I traveled around Europe to Rome, Lisbon, Athens, Santorini, Paris, Amsterdam, Belgium, Morocco and to many cities within Spain. Though I am still not fluent, I am now more comfortable speaking Spanish. Living with a native Spaniard for three months, helped me to better understand Spanish culture.