About Me Friends Links E-mail Me

A text-only version of this page is also available.

My name is Emily Seawell. I am a 19-year-old journalism student at the University of Florida.

I was born in Brussels, Belgium, and lived in Europe until shortly before my first birthday. My parents and I then moved back to the states, to our house in Gastonia, North Carolina, where I lived for the next 18 years. My brother was born a little more than a month before my third birthday. His name is Jay.

Jay and I are both into music. We play many different instruments and enjoy a diverse range of musical selections. I took piano lessons for 10 years, from third grade through my senior year of high school. During that time, I received exclusively Superior ratings in each year's National Federation of Music Clubs' Festival. I won scholarships to and attended two music camps, at Methodist College (in N.C.) and the University of North Carolina at Greensboro, during the summers after my 8th grade and freshman years, respectively. I was also a school band member from 7th grade through my senior year, and played a range of instruments, including saxophone, trumpet, French horn, bass, piano, oboe and percussion. During my high school career, I served as the Librarian, Vice President and President of the band, as well as section leader, Captain and Drum Major of the marching band.

I was also active in other areas in high school, including membership in the National Honor Society and Junior Heart Board and participation as a D.A.R.E. role model. I served as Secretary of Interact and as Secretary-Treasurer of the senior class. I acted as newspaper editor for the local Red Cross during my junior year, and I was the president of my church choir during my junior and senior years and during that time also participated in ninefortyfour, a praise band, playing keyboards, bass and guitar.

I also participated in sports, playing basketball beginning at age 7 and playing for my school teams as soon as I was eligible. I played soccer for the first time in fourth grade, and played for three years on the high school varsity squad. I swam competitively almost every summer growing up and swam for my high school during my senior year. I tried running track in 8th grade, but didn't particularly care for it, so I didn't join the team again the next season.

I applied to college at UNC-Chapel Hill and Duke University and got into both schools. However, I became a National Merit Finalist during my senior year and began receiving better financial offers from other schools than those extended by UNC and Duke. I visited the University of Florida on a whim during spring break of my senior year, and I then decided that its offer was too good to pass up. After trying out a variety of majors, I think I have settled on journalism with a concentration in reporting and an outside concentration and possible dual degree in political science.

Back to Top


About Me | Friends | Links | E-mail Me

Last updated on March 4, 2003.
© Emily Seawell 2003