All About Maggie Rooks

A Bit About Myself

A photo of me and Mattie Beth, my sister

My sister and I at my senior prom.

My name is Maggie Rooks and I am a senior at the University of Florida's College of Journalism and Communications . I am from Marianna, Fla., and have two younger siblings that still live there. Everyone in my family is a Gator fan and we try to go to a couple games together every football season. I am applying to law schools now and hope to be accepted to the Levin College of Law at the University of Florida.

I love water

Most of my favorite things to do all revolve around water. My parents have a pool in their backyard, as well as boats that we take all over the state for bass fishing, duck hunting and just having fun on a lake or the Gulf of Mexico. The Chipola River runs through our backyard at home, and during the spring and summer I can be found canoeing, fishing off its banks and tubing down it with friends and family. I love spending time with my family, no matter where we may be!

My siblings

A photo of me and Clayte, my brother

My brother and I at his last high school football game.

My sister's name is Mattie Beth and she is 12 years younger than I am. Despite the age difference, we are extremely close. I taught her how to read and how to ride a bike, but she taught me how to take care of someone. I took her everywhere when I still lived at home and she calls me at least four times a week now that I live in Gainesville, Fla.

Clayte is my younger brother, but only by a year and a few months. We grew up like twins and used to do everything together. He has broken my nose, arm and several of my toes, all in the name of brotherly affection. I love going to watch him play football and baseball, though I don't get to as often as I would like.