About Me
Sarah Powers and me

I was born in Jacksonville, Fla., and lived there most of my life. I have great parents, Allen and Marilyn, two brothers Michael, 28, and Jesse, 18, and a 16-year-old sister, Jubilee. I am currently engaged and have a wonderful fiance, Sarah. I live in Brooker, Fla., with my family and attend the University of Florida. I am 26-years-year-old and have had an interesting life.

Church has been an important part of my life from a young age. I have been fortunate to have many good role models and parents who love and support me. My involvement in church has allowed me many wonderful experiences and helped me to become the person I am today.

I graduated high school from Baker County Senior High in Macclenny, Fla., and moved back to Jacksonville shortly after. I began attending classes at Florida State College at Jacksonvlle (it was called FCCJ or Florida Community College at Jacksonville then) but had to leave a year later because my father was very sick. I had to run his pallet company for two years while he had chemotherapy.

That part of the story sounds sad, and it was, but his treatments worked and he is fine now. But the situation allowed me to grow as a person. After my father was given a clean bill of health, I began attending college at Santa Fe College in Gainesville, Fla., and received an Associate of Arts degree in journalism. I am currently a senior at UF and will be graduating in the December. Also, it was at my job in Gainesville that I met my fiance, Sarah. So a bad situation ended up allowing me to grow and meet my future wife. It's funny how bad situations can end up creating so much good.