Biography

Me with my mother and brother

Early Years

I was born on March 9, 1986 in Bridgeport, Connecticut. However, I moved to Orlando, Florida when I was just over 3 months old—which I guess pretty much makes me a native Floridian. I would say I had a fairly normal upbringing in my neighborhood of Sand Lake Hills, located in southwest Orlando.

Middle Years

Elementary school was rather typical, and during this time I was involved with a couple of different activities. This included participation with various sports teams at my local YMCA. I played soccer, flag football and basketball. Furthermore, I was also active with a local ballroom-dance studio. We learned various styles of traditional ballroom such as cha-cha and swing. We also did choreographed dances.

In middle school I became very interested in computers and started learning a lot about PCs and the Internet (especially America Online). In high school I kept up with my technological interests, and got more familiar with the Internet, broadband, mp3s and other new advances. In high school I also got into dancing—this time with a Hispanic dance group.

Me and my two roomates

Recent Years

I am currently a junior at the University of Florida, studying journalism. I enjoy dancing on the team I am involved in (HSA’s Sabor Latino), going online, going out dancing and listening to music--among many other things. So far I really like UF and Gainesville and look forward to getting further into my major so that I can take more interesting classes.

Overall, I would say that I am a fairly outgoing person. I am always up for hanging out with friends, watching a good movie and just having fun. I am enjoying this course so far and hope to learn a lot more from it. I’ll probably end up taking more online classes in the department.